top of page

News and Events

Here's the latest! 



Tuesday, May 17, 2016, 5:30 PM, The Beverly Hilton


Annual Awards Dinner

Includes Performances by Three Grammy-Winners — 
Rapper/Actor Ludacris (Fast & Furious Franchise), Singer/Songwriter/Producer 

Donald Lawrence and Actress/Recording Artist Brandy


Proceeds Support BHBA’s Education and Community Outreach Programs

Darrell D. Miller, Chair of the national Entertainment Department at 750-attorney Fox Rothschild LLP, Managing Partner of the firm’s Los Angeles offices and author of "The 16th Minute of Fame: An Insider's Guide for Maintaining Success Beyond 15 Minutes of Fame," will be honored as the 2016 Entertainment Lawyer of the Year by the Entertainment Law Section of the Beverly Hills Bar Association (BHBA), at its prestigious annual Awards Dinner on Tuesday, May 17, 2016, at 5:30 p.m., at The Beverly Hilton.  Miller is nationally recognized for his innovative strategies for effective brand building for his clients.  The evening includes musical tributes to Miller featuring three of his Grammy Award-winning clients, rapper/actor/entrepreneur Ludacris (Fast & Furious franchise), singer/songwriter/producer Donald Lawrence and actress/recording artist Brandy Norwood.  Proceeds from the event support the BHBA’s education and community outreach programs. 

The Entertainment Lawyer of the Year Award honors leaders in entertainment law for significant contributions to the profession.  It has been presented annually since 1989 by the Beverly Hills Bar Association, which has the largest entertainment law section of any bar association in the world.


“Darrell Miller is an outstanding attorney whose innovative and far-reaching strategies have had a tremendous impact on the field of entertainment law,” BHBA Entertainment Law Section Chair Leigh Leshner said.  “Darrell's background as a singer and performer, along with more than two decades of experience in entertainment law, give him a unique perspective and the ability to see the big picture while focusing on creating highly successful brands for his clients.”


Honorary Dinner Chairs include Norm Aladjem, Angela Bassett, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Chris “Ludacris” Bridges, Rocky Carroll, Tracey Edmonds, Brenda and Bill Galloway, Gerry Garvin, Christy Haubegger, Reginald Hudlin, T.D. Jakes, Terrence Jenkins, Matt Johnson, Charles King, NeNe Leakes, Amir Shahkhalili, Courtney B. Vance, Paula White and Dave Wirtschafter.


“This award is in reality a testament to the remarkable success and hard work of my tremendously talented clients that I have had the honor of working with over the last 25 years,” Miller said.  “I am completely humbled 

to be singled out by my esteemed peers at the Beverly Hills Bar Association for doing the work that I love to do, which is guiding my clients to understand the urgent need to think differently and embrace change as they approach new opportunities and deal-making today.”


The Dinner Committee includes Del Shaw Moonves Tanaka Finklestein & Lezcano; Fox Rothschild LLP; T.D. Jakes/TDJ Enterprises, LLP; Matthew Johnson/Ziffren Brittenham LLP; Wells Fargo Bank.

Darrell D. Miller is one of the most decorated and sought-after entertainment attorneys in the field.  He leads a team at Fox Rothschild LLP that has cultivated long-standing relationships with studio executives and top-tier artists, writers, directors and producers in motion pictures, television and music.  With his innovative strategies for effective brand-building, Miller has personally transformed the careers of many entertainers and remains a trusted adviser to stars who credit him as a central factor in their enduring success, including Academy Award-nominated actress Angela Bassett, rapper/actor Chris "Ludacris" Bridges and producer and best-selling author TD Jakes, among others.  For three consecutive years, Miller has been recognized in Variety’s prestigious Dealmakers Impact Report; included in The Hollywood Reporter ’s list of Top 100 Power Lawyers; recognized by Savoy Magazine in its 2015 Most Influential Black Lawyers List; and, was profiled by the Los Angeles Daily Journal as among California’s top entertainment lawyers in its 2015 Entertainment Law Supplement.  The National Bar Association named Miller as 2012 Entertainment Attorney of the Year, and he was also the recipient of the 2012 Black, Cool and Brilliant Award by the Frasernet Power Networking Conference.


Previous BHBA Entertainment Lawyer of the Year recipients include Ivy Kagan Bierman, L. Lee Phillips, Nina Shaw, Marty Singer, Ken Kleinberg, Eric Weissmann, Maren Christensen, Patti Felker, Barry Hirsch, Ken Ziffren, Tom Hansen, Stanton “Larry” Stein, Jay Cooper, Don Passman, Russell Frackman, Don Biederman, Louis Meisinger, John Schulman, Melanie Cook, Bruce Ramer, Peter Dekom, Frank Rothman, Bertram Fields, Martin Gang, Norman Tyre, Marvin Meyer, Allen Susman, Leon Kaplan and Edward Rubin. Past BHBA honorees for Outstanding Entertainment Law Scholarship are Jay Dougherty and Lionel Sobel. 


Variety is media sponsor of the Entertainment Lawyer of the Year Awards Dinner.


The Beverly Hills Bar Association, founded in 1931, is the fifth largest bar association in California, with nearly 6,000 members.  Its mission is to serve its members, to lead the legal profession and to advocate for justice in the community. 

Tickets to the Beverly Hills Bar Association’s Entertainment Lawyer of the Year Dinner are $300 per person ($325 after May 10, 2016).  The Beverly Hilton is located at 9876 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210.  For tickets and more information visit


Media MUST RSVP! Contact: 

Edna Sims, ESP Public Relations

Tel: 310-770.8117 ~

Joe Torry, Meshell Ndegeocello & Glynn Turman Added to JOHNNY GUITAR WATSON CELEBRATION ~ Tues, May 17 @ 7 PM - L.A. Theatre Center

(Los Angeles, CA) -- Johnny Guitar Watson, one of the music industries most beloved guitarist was silenced by a massive heart attack in Yokohama, Japan on May 17, 1996 while in the middle of one of his GRAMMY nominated songs “Superman Lover”.   Now it’s time to celebrate his legacy after 20 years, the 1st Annual Johnny Guitar Watson Heart for Music Foundation Celebration will be held on May 17, 2016 at the Los Angeles Theatre Center, 514 S. Spring St., Los Angeles at 8 PM. 


The star-studded celebration will be co-hosted by Glynn Turman (House of Lies) and Kiki Shepard (Showtime at the Apollo) and directed by Iona Morris, written by David Ritz, and Musical Direction by Gemi Taylor. Special guest appearances include; Joe Torry, Marla Gibbs and KJLH Radio Personality Tammi Mac. Musical performances by Meshell Ndegeocello, Lenny Williams, Barbara Morrison, Doyle Bramhall II, Kim Yarbrough, YoYo and her crew, Crystal/Penni, Martin Kimbers (Color Me Bad) and his son Ashley, and many other great performers.


The Red Carpet Event Begins At 7pm and Show Time at 8pm, with a VIP Reception immediately following the event, featuring an exhibit of artifacts belonging to the late Great Johnny Guitar Watson.

April 6, 2016 : KOD World Cup 2016 Meet and Greet


Publicist Edna Sims with Les Twins...

The ‪#‎LesTwins‬ Street dance team representing ‪#‎France‬ in the‪#‎kodworldcup‬ in the semifinals, left it all on the stage today in their competition against ‪#‎Canada‬! The Les Twins are known for their exceptional dance skills on stage with ‪#‎beyoncé‬. If you are in ‪#‎Los‬ Angeles, make time to witness KOD (Keep On Dancing) competition. Dancers have flown in from China, Korea, Japan, Canada, Germany, Russia and USA to decide what country will take the World Cup.

April 6, 2016 : KOD World Cup 2016 Meet and Greet


I had a good conversation with Tha Goodfellas Romeo & Dejai, KDAY 93.5 Morning show at the KOD World Cup 2016 Meet and Greet held at ‪Vlado‬ Warehouse

bottom of page